facebook.com/HRASouthampton highfieldracomms@gmail.com

Join /


New political map for Southampton City Council: see changes to Portswood Ward

The independent body – The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published final recommendations for ward boundary changes in Southampton, to ensure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.

It proposes that residents should be represented by 51 councillors, which is an increase of three from current arrangements. There will be 17 three-councillor wards, one more ward than there is now. Taking feedback from residents into consideration, it recommends that boundaries of most wards should change, including renaming Bargate North ward to Banister & Polygon, Bargate South ward to Bargate, and Bitterne ward to Thornhill.

See map of final recommendations in the link below from The Local Government Boundary Commission for England:


The changes become law once Parliament has approved them. These changes will come into force for the May 2023 elections and will not affect the Bitterne By-Election on 1 December 2022.

Info courtesy of SCC City News and also The Local Government Boundary Commission for England